About Worcestershire Chess League

Worcs CA About Worcs League About team KO competition Clubs
League rules Captains & secretaries League players ECF LMS

About the Worcestershire League

Revised 9 December 2019


The Worcestershire League has two divisions and a team handicap knock-out competition. The Division 1 trophy is the Bonham Rose Bowl - Reg Bonham was a noted blind player and head of Worcester College for the Blind. The league championship was inaugurated after the First World War and Worcester City were the first league Champions in 1921. The Division 2 trophy is an unusual chess box and small in-laid board donated by Lord Cobham as a challenge trophy for working men’s clubs in 1895, but has been used for the Division 2 champions since 1922. There is also a team handicap knock out competition for the Wheatley Memorial Cup inaugurated in 2004. See honours rolls for team championships.


The League Secretary and Grading Officer is Paul Sharratt (Stourbridge). Division 1 matches are for 6 boards and Division 2 and Knock Out Cup matches are for 5 board teams. Membership of the League is open to clubs affiliated to Worcestershire Chess Association based on the pre-1974 boundaries of Worcestershire, which included Dudley, Warley, Halesowen, and Stourbridge, and other clubs approved by Worcestershire Chess Association Executive Committee.


League matches are played during the chess season, September to April. Division 1 matches are played over 6 boards and Division 2 matches over 5. All games in Divisions 1 and 2 are graded. The playing session should be at least 3 hours and the 2019 association AGM approved incremental time controls 60 min for all moves with an increment of 30 sec for each move from move 1, but if digital clocks are not available, all moves to be completed within 90 minutes. Clubs are responsible for any fees for players who are not ECF members.


The Knock Out Cup Controller is Laurence Wheatley (Greenlands) and Competition Secretary is Ray Collett (Worcester). The competition is a handicap five-board team knockout event where higher graded teams must score more to win.


Club Secretaries should notify the County Association's General Secretary, Paul Sharratt, of their club's intentions to compete prior to the August Executive Meeting of the County Association. Clubs not already affiliated to Worcestershire may apply for membership of Worcestershire Chess Association and admission to the league (affiliation £5 p.a.). League entry fees are fixed at the Worcestershire Chess Association AGM and the 2018-9 season entry fee is £19 per team. Fixtures are arranged at the meeting immediately following the Association's Executive meeting in August.


2019-20 season. Four teams entered Division 1: Halesowen, Malvern, Olton, Worcester City. Division 2 has six teams: Droitwich, Greenlands, Halesowen, Kidderminster A, Kidderminster B, and Stourbridge. In both divisions teams play each other at home and away. The following teams compete for the KO cup: Droitwich, Greenlands, Malvern, Mercia, Kidderminster, Redditch, Shirley & Wythall, Worcester.