County Team News League Juniors Events Affiliated clubs & leagues

Next events - Words in green are hyperlinks to pdf entry form, congress website, or contact’s e-mail

Sat 25 May to Mon 27 May. Cotswold Chess Congress at The King's School, Gloucester, GL1 2BG. Morning rounds start at 10am and there are six rounds. Open, Major (u155), and Minor (u125) tournaments. Half point byes available rounds 1-5, bookstall.

Worcestershire Chess News

31 Mar. Worcestershire u140 team have been paired with Hertfordshire in the national quarter final match.

23 Mar. Worcestershire first team beat Leicestershire 9-7 away at Sharnford, Leics. This was a fine win against a team that looked certain earlier in the season to win the Midlands county team championship.

23 Mar. Worcestershire decided not to enter a u180 team in the national stage so as to give Worcestershire u140 team and captain Tony Shaw the best chance to win their quarter final match in the national stage.

2 Mar. Worcestershire u140 are Midlands County team champions. Worcestershire beat Nottinghamshire 9-7 away. New captain Tony Shaw has led his team to 5 team wins this season.

23 Feb. Worcestershire u120 team draw 6-6 with Staffordshire to get points on the table.

16 Feb. Worcestershire u120 team lose to Leicestershire.

9 Feb. Worcestershire u140 team draw 8-8 with Derbyshire away.

2 Feb. Worcestershire first team lost away to Nottinghamshire 7-9.

26 Jan. Worcestershire u140 at home beat Lincolnshire 10-6.

19 Jan. Worcestershire first team lost 6-10 to Warwickshire at Greenlands Social Club, Longbridge, Birmingham.

31 Dec, Paul Sharratt reports. Provisional entry for national u180 county team competition. Worcestershire have stated the first team wishes to compete in the national Minor Counties stages if matches in the new year go our way. In the event that the first team does not does not qualify, the county will compete in the u180 national stage for the first time.

8 Dec. Worcestershire u-140 playing at Webheath Redditch, beat Warwickshire 11½-4½. This convincing win puts the u140 team on course for the national stage in 2019.

1 Dec. Worcestershire first team lose 6½-9½ playing Lincolnshire. Geoff Marchant, Lee Davis (both Malvern), Finlay Bowcott-Terry (Halesowen) and Mihai Zbircea (Redditch) won their games.

24 Nov. Worcestershire u140 beat Staffordshire 9½-6½ at Worcester. Harry Evans (Halesowen), David Waud (Kidderminster), John Varilone (Kidderminster), and David Cleak (Droitwich) won their games.

18 Nov. Worcs players in 50+ World Championship at Bled. GM Keith Arkell (Halesowen) and Lee Davis (Malvern) are playing. Keith is seeded 7th and Lee is seeded 70th in a field of over 100. You can follow some games and get all results at

17 Nov. Worcestershire u120 playing away lose to Derbyshire 4½-7½. Monty Woodhouse (Captain, Greenlands) and Simon Berry (Worcester) won their games on boards 5 and 10 against much higher graded opponents. older news